Skip to content

Loveessence on “Black Women Deserve Better”

June 26, 2012

Don’t you just love that name “Black Women Deserve Better”? We all deserve better. We deserve a better world.  But I think that phrase of deserving better especially resonates with those who may sometimes face certain negativity simply based on the fact that they were born a woman and black.  Cher asked me some very interesting questions.

This was one of my favorites. 

“I encourage all of us as black women to love and nurture ourselves on a daily and moment by moment basis.  I am constantly walk around telling myself that I am beautiful, worthy of the best and that the Creator is aligning things in my favor and filling me with love and enthusiasm.  I don’t think this conceit, I think this is necessary to survive and thrive.  Nurturing ourselves is the most important work that we have to do, because without that work we will not be able to do all other work related to our careers, businesses and families successfully. In addition,  I sometimes censor what I allow myself to hear or read.  I stopped listening to certain R&B and hip hop stations because the music was not nurturing to me.  I sometimes refuse to read certain articles that I don’t think will put me in a good mood.  Obviously, we can’t hide under a rock because a certain degree of activism is necessary, but we don’t have to allow ourselves to be bombarded with negative music, news or opinions either.  Let us nurture ourselves and each other.”

 

Please read the rest of the interview here.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

